It was built in 1651 and is the oldest building in the town. The church is included in the Latvian national list of protected monuments. A boulder fence around the church has survived till today.
The church building has not been under massive reconstruction. Its interior has a lot of original parts like pulpit in the Baroque taste from the beginning of the 18th century, an altar with wooden sculptures and twines of acanthus leaves, ceiling chandelier in Mannerist style.
A small exhibition about the history of the church is displayed in the church tower.